Minutes of the 2009 Annual General Meeting of the Australian Go Association

Meeting brought to order at 5:50pm on Saturday the third of September, after the first three rounds of the Australian Go Championships, in Union House at the University of Melbourne in Parkville.

Minutes taken by Horatio Davis (horatio@go.org.au). Meeting chaired by John Hardy.

- 1. The draft agenda circulated by the AGA secretary was accepted by the leave of the meeting.
- 2. John Hardy noted that the minutes of the 2008 Annual General Meeting had been previously circulated, and moved that they be accepted. The motion was carried.
- 3. John Hardy noted that the president's report for 2009 had been previously circulated (http://www.australiango.asn.au/files/Minutes/2009/AGA%20President%27s%20Report%202009.pdf), gave a verbal summary, and moved that this report be accepted. The motion was seconded by David Ormerod and carried.
- 4. David Ormerod gave the secretary's report for 2009 verbally. David Bofinger moved that this report be accepted. The motion was seconded by John Hardy and carried.
- 5. Larry Wen gave the treasurer's report verbally, with reference to the accounts for 2008-9 previously circulated (http://www.australiango.asn.au/files/Minutes/2009/Account%20of%202008-2009%20.xls). David Bofinger moved that this report be accepted. The motion was seconded by Neville Smythe and carried.
- 6. Neville Smythe gave the Australasian IGF director's report verbally, with specific reference to drug testing regulations that started affecting Australian representatives to IGF tournaments from January 2009, and a general restructuring and renewal of the International Go Federation to include China and Korea. Alex Hanysz moved a vote of thanks to Neville for his long standing service in this role. The motion was seconded by Horatio Davis and carried.
- 7. David Bofinger gave the ratings officer's report verbally. David then moved that this report be accepted. The motion was seconded by Alex Hanysz and carried.
- 8. There was no business arising from the minutes.
- 9. Neville Smythe moved: "That the Australian Go Association accepts and endorses the International Go Federation Anti-Drug Policy and Regulations, as published by the IGF and requires compliance with these Regulations by players selected, by the AGA, to represent Australia in events organised by the International Go Federation." The motion was seconded by John Hardy, discussed at length, and carried.

By the leave of the meeting, item 17 (election of officers) was brought forward to this point in the agenda.

- John Hardy declared all positions elected or appointed by the AGA vacant and called for nominations.
- David Ormerod and Larry Wen nominated John Hardy for president. There being no other nominations, John was reelected unopposed.
- John Hardy and David Bofinger nominated Horatio Davis for secretary. There being no other nominations, Horatio was elected unopposed.
- Neville Smythe noted that Brisbane now held the largest bloc on the committee and asked if volunteers from other cities would be willing to step forward.
- John Hardy noted that all volunteers were welcome from whatever city, provided that they were willing and able to fulfill the role of an AGA officer.
- John Hardy and Horatio Davis nominated Larry Wen for treasurer. There being no other nominations, Larry was reelected unopposed.
- Horatio Davis and Warrakun Mangrai nominated Neville Smythe for vice-president. David Ormerod and Matthew Crossman nominated David Bofinger for vice-president. The vote being 17 for Neville and 3 for David (not including David), Neville was reelected.
- John Hardy and David Bofinger nominated Raphael Shin for committee member. John Hardy and

David Ormerod nominated Shining Zhang for committee member. Horatio Davis and David Bofinger nominated Alexander Hanysz for committee member. David Ormerod and Alexander Hanysz nominated David Bofinger for committee member. After David Bofinger accepted nomination, Alex declined nomination. There being three nominees for three positions, Raphael Shin, David Bofinger, and Shining Zhang were elected unoopposed.

By the leave of the meeting, the remaining agenda was truncated to the following items, to fit the time available in the meeting venue.

- 10. David Ormerod moved that the AGA's rules for selecting the Korean Prime Minister's Cup representative be amended to:
 - a. The player in the top section of the KAC tournament, who is an Australian citizen, with the highest number of Representative Points (after adding points awarded for the KAC) shall normally be selected to represent Australia at the following KPMC.
 - b. If there is one or more eligible KAC participant(s) within 50 Representative Points of this player, then a play-off shall be held to determine the selection.
 - c. If the selected player does not accept selection or subsequently cannot attend the KPMC, the AGA Committee will normally select the Australian player with the next highest number of Representative Points; but the Committee may at its discretion select any AGA member. The motion was seconded by Neville Smythe and carried nemo contra.
- 12. John Hardy and Larry Wen nominated Billy Sun for life membership of the AGA. John Hardy and David Ormerod nominated Raphael Shin for life membership of the AGA, both "in recognition of their generous support of the Association". The meeting voted to confer life membership on both nominees.
- 11. David Ormerod moved to appoint Younggil Ahn 9p of Sydney as the AGA's honorary national coach. The motion was seconded by David Bofinger and passed by acclamation. Younggil accepted the appointment.
- 13. There being no invitation for Australia to send a team to the World Pair Go Championships, item 13 lapsed as moot.
- 15. David Ormerod and John Hardy briefly spoke to this item, but no motion was made.
- 18. Neville Smythe declined on behalf of the Canberra Go Club to host the thirty-third Australian Go Championships, due to infirmity of the club. Robert Vardas of Sydney Go Club had volunteered to host the 2010 championships out of rotation to compensate. John Hardy therefore moved that Robert be appointed to direct the tournament. The motion was seconded by David Bofinger and carried.

Meeting closed at 6:45pm.