

# Australian Go Association

## Minutes of the 37<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting 7 December 2013 Melbourne

The meeting commenced at 5:45pm, Neville Smythe in the Chair.

1. Apologies Apologies from Raphael Shin, Tony Purcell, Michael Richardson, Alexander Hanysz, Matthew Crossman and David He.

#### 2. *Minutes* The minutes of the 36<sup>th</sup> AGM were accepted

### 3. Reports

Neville Smythe presented the Secretary's report in his absence:

Australian representatives performed with distinction in a number of prestigious international tournaments. Billy Sun, 6 dan, attended the 34th World Amateur Championships in Sendai, and Wei Qian, 6 dan, attended the 8th Korean Prime Minister's Cup in Gumi, both players achieved very solid results despite a demanding schedule.

Through the efforts of Erli Qiu Australia has put together a team for the inaugural Zhu Gang Cup. This is a team event to be held in Guangzhou later this month and we are very fortunate to have a singularly distinguished team attending including Joanne Missingham professional 6 dan, Yiming Guo, 7 dan, and Sang Dae Hahn , 6 dan. On behalf of the association I wish them every success.

The Secretary is trying to sort through the paperwork required to reactivate our Paypal account which has been frozen, with negative impacts on our revenues and membership. He hopes that this will be rectified in the next few weeks.

Neville Smythe reported that the Committee is in the process of selecting an Oceania representative for the new Globis Under-20 New World Stars tournament to be held in Tokyo, next May. [added by NS later: Joanne Missingham (Hei JiaJia 6p) has been selected].

The finances of the AGA are currently in a strong position, but continuing membership dues collection is under threat until the PayPal dispute is settled.

#### 4. Election of Office Bearers

Neville Smythe nominated the current Committee for their current positions. There being no further nominations from the floor for any position the following Committee members were re-elected:

President: Raphael Shin Vice-President: Neville Smythe Secretary: Anthony Purcell Treasurer: Michael Richardson Member : Billy Sun Member: Alexander Hanysz Member: Matthew Crossman Member: Erli Qiu 2d Member: David He

Webmaster: Horatio Davis

In addition, Clive Hunt from the Perth Go Club will be kept advised as an observer.

5. Venue of 38th AGM and appointment of Tournament Director for 39th Australian Nationals The venue for next year's National Championships and AGM will be Sydney. David Bofinger was elected Tournament Director (and therefore becomes a Committee member).

6. Any other business

There being no other business, the meeting closed at 6:00pm.