

President

Raphael Shin PO Box 149 Woody Point, Queensland 4019 email: President@AustralianGo.asn.au

Australian Go Association Annual General Meeting 2015

Minutes of the meeting

Location

The meeting opened at 1.20pm, Saturday 5th December at Saint Leo's College. University of Queensland. St Lucia, Brisbane.

Attendance

A list of attendees is attached.

Apologies:

Matthew Crossman; Bill Leveritt; Eugene Lee.

Meeting Officials

The meeting was chaired by Horatio Davis; Minutes by David Mitchell

Minutes of previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting were read and agreed. Proposed by Barry Jay, Seconded by Neville Smythe - passed unanimously.

Matters arising

There were no matters arising from the minutes.

Reports

The president's report was delivered by Raphael Shin. A motion to accept the report was proposed by David Mitchell, Seconded by Horatio Davis - passed unanimously.

The Vice President's report was delivered by Neville Smythe (attached). A motion to accept the report was proposed by Robin Garner, Seconded by David Boffinger - passed unanimously.

Neville proposed a vote of thanks to Erli Qui for organising Australia's entry to the 2nd World Team Tournament in Guang Zhou, China. The team consists of Zheng Hong 9p, Yiming Guo 7d and Shuping Cai 7 dan. David Mitchell seconded the proposal which was passed unanimously.

The secretary's report was delivered by David Mitchell (attached). A motion to accept the report was proposed by Robin Garner, Seconded by Neville Smythe - passed unanimously.

The treasure's report was delivered by Horatio Davis (attached). A motion to accept the report was proposed by Neville Smythe, Seconded by Robin Garner - passed unanimously.

Treasurer proposed the meeting authorise the treasurer to change the signatures for the association's ANZ Bank account 013-481 4938 00806 to the current secretary, treasurer and vice-president with one to sign, online access and at least one debit card, and do all things necessary or convenient to that purpose. The motion was seconded by David Mitchell and passed unopposed.



President

Raphael Shin PO Box 149 Woody Point, Queensland 4019 email: President@AustralianGo.asn.au

David Boffinger (and others) observed that our cash reserves were high and the association should seek to leverage that resource for the aims of the association.

The meeting thanked the office bearers and committee members for their time, commitment and efforts over the previous year.

Election of office bearers for 2015

President: David Mitchell proposed Raphael Shin continue as president – Raphael accepted nomination. The proposal was seconded by Horatio Davis and with no other candidates Raphael was elected unopposed.

Vice President: Horatio Davis proposed Neville Smythe as vice president – Neville accepted nomination. The proposal was seconded and with no other candidates Raphael was elected unopposed.

Treasurer: Neville Smythe proposed Horatio Davis for the role as treasurer. Horatio accepted the nomination which was seconded by Robin Garner and with no other candidates Horatio was elected unopposed.

Secretary: Robin Garner proposed David Mitchell as secretary. David accepted the proposal which was seconded by Neville Smythe and with no other candidates David was elected unopposed.

Other committee members:

The meeting elected unopposed the following people as ordinary members of the committee:

Matthew Crossman, Yoko Usami, Erli Qiu, Billy Sun and Robin Garner

Location of 2016 National Championships

Melbourne is the next location in the cycle - David Boffinger proposed Melbourne organize the 2016 National Championships, Seconded by Robin Garner. Billy Sun accepted the proposal on behalf of the Melbourne clubs. The motion was passed unanimously.

A.O.B.

Rating system proposal

The AGA Rating sub-committee proposed a review of the existing rating system and software. David Mitchell explained that the current system (Agatha) was supported by just one person which needs to be addressed. In addition, the ratings around the country vary considerably, particularly for kyu players. The proposal attached is for a 2 year review of all aspects of the rating system by a working group.

The working group will be chaired by Neville Smythe with David Boffinger, Robin, Matthew Crossman and others at Neville's discretion.

David Boffinger moved the proposal, seconded by Barry Jay - the motion was passed unanimously.



President

Raphael Shin PO Box 149 Woody Point, Queensland 4019

email: President@AustralianGo.asn.au

Travel scholarship proposal

Barry Jay proposed that the AGA establishes a process to manage The AGA Travel Scholarship which will be funded by the AGA until a sponsorship can be found. The guidelines are as follows:

- 1. The maximum value of a scholarship is \$300
- 2. The maximum number of scholarships is 4
- 3. Applicants must have won a first-class AGA tournament in the 12 months prior to AGANC 2016
- 4. Applicants must not reside in the city hosting the AGANC 2016 tournament.

There was debate on the proposal which questioned the details of who will benefit, how it will be managed and other associated concerns. There were some strong opinions from the floor which related to the benefit to the association and who would benefit from the proposal.

David Boffinger proposed that the AGA commit to spending \$1,200 on travel scholarships for 2016 with the detailed method, target recipients and other details to be prepared by a working group by February 2016. The working group proposal will be put to the full committee for consideration at the AGA Committee meeting in February. Details of the approved proposal will be circulated to all AGA members and clubs. This was proposed was seconded by Barry Jay and passed by a majority.

David Mitchell proposed that Robin Garner (as an AGA committee member) chair the working group and work with Barry Jay and others at Robin's discretion to deliver a comprehensive solution in the time-frame set by the AGM. The motion was passed unopposed.

There was no other business.

The meeting closed at 2:25pm.



President

Raphael Shin

PO Box 149 Woody Point, Queensland 4019

email: President@AustralianGo.asn.au

List of members at the meeting

Alexander Hanysz

Amy Song

Chen Wei Jiang

David Bofinger

David Mitchell

Edwin Clarke

Erli Qiu

Ge Zhou

Horatio Davis

Kaile Su

Mark Bell

Markus Pache

Neville Smythe

Ravi Newman-Pache

Wei Zhou

Yanis Newman-Pache

Yoko Usami

Aaron Wang

Andrew Gray

Barry Jay

Billy Sun

David Schofield

Davis Kim

Dominic Chan

Dongjie Wu

James Kim

Jason Mackay-Dwyer

Kevin Jiang

Mark Brough

Peter Hexel

Peter Hong

Raphael Shin

Rene Hexel

Robin Garner

Simon Lyu

Watson Zhou